The Orleans County Historical Society is located off Route 58 north of Orleans in Brownington, VT. Open May 15 to October 15, Wednesday through Sunday 11:00-5:00. $6 per adult $5 county residents, $3 students. This striking, four story, 30-room granite building completed in 1836 as a dormitory for Orleans County Grammar School house the collections of the Orleans County Historical Society. The building is all the more dramatic set among the village scattering of early 19th century houses and surrounding farmland. Its story is compelling. The school’s headmaster and the building’s architect was Alexander Twilight (1795 – 1857), a Vermonter of mixed descent, who has been credited with being the first African-American college graduate (Middlebury, 1823) and state legislator (Vermont House of Representatives, 1836). The site includes a visitor’s center in the 1830 Alexander Twilight House, from which guided tours depart to view the Old Stone House. The museum showcases special exhibits and historical collections from towns throughout Orleans County (including tools, paintings, furniture, and decorative arts). The Lawrence Barn contains an exhibit titled “A hard row to Hoe: Two Centuries of Farming in Orleans County.” Inquire about special, year round workshops. Old Stone House Day, in mid-August, represents one of the Kingdom’s biggest annual events with a farmer’s market, picnic, kid’s activities, live music, crafts demonstrations and more. Any day pick up the walking tour guide of Brownington Historic District and don’t miss the view from the observatory tower on Prospect hill. This is truly one of the most magical places in Vermont.